Why companies are moving away from Google Maps to OpenStreetMap – switch2osm.org

At Leeds digitial networking event LSxCafe this Tuesday, I talked about how companies, such as Geocaching.com and Foursquare.com are moving away from Google Maps and choosing OpenStreetMap. The slides are below.

Today the twitterverse and blogosphere were abuzz with the discovery that Apple had made the switch to use OpenStreetMap in their iPhoto application. At the moment, it appears to be so, but there’s no attribution yet. Compare for yourselves : http://ivan.sanchezortega.es/leaflet-apple.php  But take it from me, I have personally surveyed using a GPS unit and mapped paths in woods which are not on any map anywhere else (not legal footpaths) which appear on Apples map.

3 thoughts on “Why companies are moving away from Google Maps to OpenStreetMap – switch2osm.org

  1. Pingback: OpenStreetMap | Pearltrees

  2. I think that Google is still the No 1 company for web maps. They are sometimes 3d, totally free and beat up fairly all their competitors.
    You can easily see the beat and the idea of turning away from Google sound a bit strange to me, though possible- worth to inquire much deeper on this subject/
    Anyway, thanks a lot for your valuable information

  3. hello there and thank you for your info – I have definitely picked up anything
    new from right here. I did however expertise a few technical points using this site, since I experienced to reload the
    website a lot of times previous to I could get it
    to load properly. I had been wondering if your web hosting
    is OK? Not that I’m complaining, but slow loading instances times will sometimes affect your placement in google and could damage your high quality score if ads and marketing with Adwords. Anyway I am adding this RSS to my email and can look out for a lot more of your respective exciting content. Ensure that you update this again soon.

Leave a Reply

