using RAM as chromium cache for speed

Just a little post to help other folks find this hint and tip. I’m using Ubuntu on an Acer Aspire One with the SSD – I recommend fellow Ruby allied Leodian George’s post on getting it all set up if you are interested.

Okay, to make Chromium or Google Chrome to go very fast and use a previously configured RAM filesystem (I used aufs). Use the –disk-cache-dir flag. For example, where /var/tmp is actually held in RAM:

chromium-browser --disk-cache-dir="/var/tmp"

Will get the browser using a cache in RAM, and not the actual SSD. Hope this helps others out there.

7 thoughts on “using RAM as chromium cache for speed

  1. chromium-browser –disk-cache-dir=”/var/tmp”

    it won’t work like this….

    chromium-browser -–disk-cache-dir=”/var/tmp”

    this will ,you missed a –

    grtzzzzz

    Happy

    • Ahh, well spotted, I’ve changed the post to reflect this. Many thanks!!
      (edits, actually, it appears it was WordPress that merged the two dashes –, I should have wrapped them in pre)

  2. Hi Tim,

    Interesting tip – thank you.

    I’ve found the most disk-intensive aspect of Chrome is its writing (and indexing) of the “History” and “Thumbnails” files. I haven’t found any “nice” way to disable the use of these, so I’ve bodged it – symlink’ed them to /dev/null.

    This has a few effects:

    – Produces an error message when starting Chrome.
    – No history of visited sites, or auto-completion from history when typing in a URL.
    – No thumbnail pictures of recently visited sites.

    However, on my AAO with SSD it produces a dramatic speed increase. Particularly, the prolonged total lockups I used to see when using several tabs at once are completely gone. Previously these would last up to 30 seconds, during which the hard disk light stayed on and Chrome stayed completely unresponsive.

    It would be nicer to be able to disable the writing (or at least, the grotesquely inefficient indexing) of these – but looking at the source, there doesn’t seem to be a commandline switch for this.

    Cheers

  3. any chance to make some alias for this or to make that permanent? i mean i wont start chromium everytime in console… symlink in /usr/bin to shellscript with chromium –…?

  4. Pingback: Chromium cache in RAM « il blog di ugaciaka

  5. You really make it appear really easy along with your presentation however I find this matter
    to be really one thing that I think I would by no means understand.

    It seems too complicated and very huge for me. I’m looking ahead on your next post, I’ll attempt to get the hold of it!

Leave a Reply

